Australia beat Pakistan by 2-1 in Hockey Champions Trophy

NETHERLANDS: Pakistan confronted one other defeat in the Champions Trophy going down in Breda, Netherlands on Sunday as Australia downed the inexperienced shirts by 2-1.

Australia, one of the profitable groups in the Champions Trophy with 14 titles below its belt, added one other win to its checklist of glory. Earlier, India defeated Argentina by 2-1 whereas in one other match, Netherlands defeated Belgium by 6-1.

Pakistan misplaced their opening match of the match Four-Zero to India whereas Australia drew their recreation Three-Three towards Belgium on Saturday.

Pakistan gained the inaugural version of the Champions Trophy held in Lahore in 1978 after they beat Australia in the ultimate.

4 years later, Pakistan picked up their second title beating West Germany in Karachi. The final time Pakistan picked up the Champions Trophy title was in 1994 in Lahore, after they beat Germany (7–6) on penalty strokes.

Not solely does Pakistan have three titles below its belt, the inexperienced shirts have completed as runner-up seven instances in the match in 1983, 1984, 1988, 1991, 1996, 1998, and 2014.

Six groups can be participating in this yr’s match, which is the final version of the Champions Trophy.

The match can be changed by the Hockey Professional League (HPL) in 2019.


M Rizwan Sr (captain), Imran Butt, Amjad Ali, M Irfan Sr, Mubashir Ali, Aleem Bilal, Ammad Shakeel Butt, Touseeq Arshad, Rashid Mahmood, Tasawar Abbas, Abu Bakar, M Irfan Jr, Arslan Qadir, Umar Bhutta, Shafqat Rasool, Ali Shan, Azfar Yaqoob and Aijaz Ahmed.

Source link