Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis open for Windies- Firstcricket News, Firstpost

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis open for Windies- Firstcricket News, Firstpost

West Indies vs World XI, solely T20I at Lord’s, LIVE cricket rating: Good begin from McClenaghan as he bowls an ideal yorker to Gayle first up. Enormous enchantment nevertheless it was extra for enjoyable. However this can be a good begin from West Indies as Lewis has fetched eight runs in boundaries. Runs galore this pitch it appears.

Preview: A galaxy of former and present stars can be in motion on the iconic Lord’s on Thursday to play an exhibition match between the ICC World XI and the West Indies and assist elevate funds for the refurbishment of 5 cricket stadia within the Caribbean that have been broken by Hurricanes Irma and Maria in 2017.

File images of West Indies captain Carlos Brathwaite and ICC World XI captain Shhaid Afridi.

File photos of West Indies captain Carlos Brathwaite and ICC World XI captain Shahid Afridi.

Former Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi has lastly been named to guide the World XI after England’s restricted overs captain Eoin Morgan sustained a damaged finger throughout a home match.

“It is an ideal honour to be main the ICC World XI aspect, that too for such a superb trigger. I am positive all of the gamers from both aspect are trying ahead to the match with nice enthusiasm and folks will get to see some high-quality cricket on Thursday,” Afridi mentioned on Twitter.

The World XI aspect, in actual fact, has had quite a lot of modifications since being formally introduced.

Morgan was the primary identify introduced, adopted by these of Afridi, his compatriot Shoaib Malik and Thisara Perera, the Sri Lanka T20I captain. Subsequent got here Rashid Khan, the Afghan leg-spin famous person, and Bangladesh stalwarts Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal, adopted by Indians Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya and New Zealanders Luke Ronchi and Mitchell McClenaghan.

That accomplished the XI, however Shakib opted out due to private causes and was changed by the thrilling teenaged Nepal leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane.

Pandya has additionally opted out since then, to get replaced by countrymate Mohammed Shami, who has additionally been swapped with Tymal Mills, whereas Sam Billings has stuffed in for Morgan.

English cricketers Adil Rashid and Sam Curran have additionally been late additions to the 13-man squad.

The squad nonetheless wears an especially robust look. Iqbal, Billings, Karthik, Ronchi and Malik, with Afridi and Perera offering glorious choices for a late burst, makes for a mouth-watering batting line-up.

Karthik, Ronchi and Billings are all wicket-keeping candidates, whereas in McClenaghan, Curran and Mills, there is a good tempo division.

However essentially the most thrilling is probably the spin assault, or the leg-spin assault, with the 2 Rashids and Lamichhane all accessible for choice, to not overlook Afridi himself.

With Samuel Badree on the opposite aspect, this one might properly be the best exhibition of T20 leg-spin bowling ever.

Whichever mixture Afridi and Andy Flower, the World XI coach, determine to place out on the sector ought to present glorious competitors to the defending ICC World T20 champions.

Carlos Brathwaite, who hit Ben Stokes for 4 successive sixes to win the Windies the final ICC World T20 at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens in April 2016, is the captain of the Windies aspect, and the squad has some improbable T20 expertise of their midst.

T20 stars Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis and Badree are the large names in Brathwaite’s line-up, whereas in Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams and others, there’s plenty of firepower.

Six of these gamers have been part of the XI that gained the World T20 2016 remaining.


ICC World XI: Shahid Afridi (Captain), Sam Billings (WK), Sam Curran, Tamim Iqbal, Tymal Mills, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Rashid Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mitchell McClenaghan, Shoaib Malik, Thisara Perera, Luke Ronchi (WK), Adil Rashid.

West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (Captain), Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin (WK), Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.and the bids they’ve attracted:

Up to date Date: Might 31, 2018

Source link